Jan 16 2016

Blog Tour & Review: The Dirt on Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones

Posted by Jennifer in 5 Stars, Blog Tour, Mystery, Paranormal, Reviews / Leave a Comment






In a small village in New York Charley Davidson is living as Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she is working at a diner and slowly begins to realize she can see dead people, she’s more than a little taken aback. Stranger still are the people entering her life. They seem to know things about her. Things they hide with lies and half-truths. Soon, she senses something far darker. A force that wants to cause her harm, she is sure of it. Her saving grace comes in the form of a new friend she feels she can confide in and the fry cook, a devastatingly handsome man whose smile is breathtaking and touch is scalding. He stays close, and she almost feels safe with him around.

But no one can outrun their past, and the more lies that swirl around her-even from her new and trusted friends-the more disoriented she becomes, until she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. A force that absolutely will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. But that doesn’t help in her quest to find her identity and recover what she’s lost. That will take all her courage and a touch of the power she feels flowing like electricity through her veins. She almost feels sorry for him. The devil in blue jeans. The disarming fry cook who lies with every breath he takes. She will get to the bottom of what he knows if it kills her. Or him. Either way.


About the Author:

daryndajonesFor reasons known only to the Big Guy upstairs, NYTimes and USA Today Best Selling author Darynda Jones won both a Golden Heart and a RITA for her manuscript FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT. But even before that, she couldn’t remember a time she wasn’t putting pen to paper. When she was five, she would pick up a pencil and notepad, scribble utter chaos onto the page and ask her mom to read her masterpiece aloud. Thankfully, her mother would play along.  Later she wrote plays for the neighborhood kids, made up stories for her brother as he played cars, and fell in love with Captain Kirk. Those raging, seven-year-old hormones only fueled her imagination, prompting her to create fantastical stories for Barbie and Ken to enact. Ken was such a bad boy back then.

After years of being repeatedly sent to the principal’s office for daydreaming in class, she managed to make it to high school where she almost finished her first manuscript. Sitting with her BFF in a corner booth at the local Tastee Freeze for hours at a time, she wrote a post-apocalyptic story about a group of teens who bore a remarkable resemblance to the members of Van Halen and were trying to escape the tunnels of a huge government fallout facility decades after World War III had destroyed the surface of the earth. It was a science fiction version of The Warriors and destined to be a classic.

Life was good. Writing was good. Then she graduated and the real world came crashing through. She forced the dream aside in favor of sustenance and shelter, got married to a local rock star, and had at least two kids that she can think of, the oldest of whom was born Deaf, probably to spite her. When he was five, she packed up her boys and moved to Albuquerque to put him in a Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing program. The rock star stayed behind with the business, and they took turns going back and forth on the weekends to see each other for seven really long years.

While in Albuquerque, Darynda decided to see the cup half full and go back to college while she still had enough brain cells to make it worth her while. After graduating Summa cum Laude from the University of New Mexico with a degree in Sign Language Interpreting, she moved back to her hometown and got a real job. Several in fact, mostly teaching at a local college and interpreting pretty much everywhere. Based on personal experience, she does not recommend having more than three jobs at any given time.

But bit by bit, the desire to write needled its way back to the surface. Unable to squelch it any longer, she started writing seriously again in 2002 with one goal in mind: A publishing contract. Unfortunately, she sucked. Thank goodness practice makes almost-perfect and three complete manuscripts later, she won that Golden Heart, landed an amazing agent and sold to St. Martin’s Press in a three-book deal.

She currently has two series with St. Martin’s Press, the Charley Davidson series and the Darklight Trilogy. She hopes you enjoy reading them as much as she enjoys writing them.

Darynda lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of almost 30 years and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.


Review of The Dirt on Ninth Grave

Review (5 Stars): This is my absolute favorite series and I’m always impressed with how Ms. Jones mixes each of her books with the right level of humor, mystery and emotion that just leaves me broken at the end.  When we meet Charley in this book, she is working in a diner with no memory of who she is and what she is capable of doing.  The thing that she does learn rather quickly is that she can see dead people and is afraid that people with think that she is crazy if she tells anyone her secret.  While sorting out who she is, Charley discovers that someone has been sent to kill her and will stop at nothing to make sure they complete their mission before Charley discovers the secret of her true identity.

I look forward to each new book in this series and I couldn’t wait to see what happened to Charley after the events of the last book.  Charley is one of those heroines that you will instantly connect with and feel like she is your best friend.  She went through so much over the course of the series and with her relationship with the sexy, yet brooding, Reyes.  Watching Charley go through trying to figure out who she was while the answer was basically in front of her was heart-wrenching especially when she learned the truth about everything. So much emotion and so much pain wrapped up inside her and it was just a matter of time before everything came to surface in epic proportions.

Ms. Jones is an amazingly talented author and you will be hooked from the very first page.  This is the ninth book in the series and they shouldn’t be read out of order because they provide so much history about Charley and Reyes’ relationship.  He is still my favorite book boyfriend after all these years.  Can’t wait to see what happens next in the tenth installment of the series.



Comments are closed.